Shinkansen 500 Japanese Bullet Train Gauge-1 - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2010, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Shinkansen 500 Japanese Bullet Train Gauge-1

Greetings everyone, this will be my 1st post here. I started a thread over on Trains.com, about a project I am starting. I though you guys might ne interested as well. I'm not sure how many people on either forum bounce back and forth, but for those that have not seen it here's my little project. After some great advice, I decided to go with Gauge-1 for this train. Any additional advice or suggestions would be great !!! (coppied and pasted)

Greetings everyone.
This is my 1st post here, so please be gentle.

I'm a scale model builder/fabricator by trade, and I have been throwing a few ideas around in my head for a while now. I've started to put pen to paper now, and have realized, I am getting my self in allot of trouble I think.

I have always loved the sleek design of the Japanese bullet trains, and have been thinking about building a BIG replica. The largest version of this train available is "O" gauge. It's a very well built, working brass train, that is available in Japan. After looking into importing a copy, I was quoted $32,000 to have the set shipped to me. BUT.. only 4 of the 12 unique cars are available so far, and I would have to wait till later this year, or possibly next year the other 8 cars to be produced. Needless to say, the price itself turned me off.

So here I am, back at the drawing board, thinking BIGGER IS BETTER !!
I have the skills, abilities, to build this train in almost any scale.
Right now, I am still trying to decide......
1:27 (scaled the the wheel diameter)
1:29 (more standard for scale)
1:33.3 (scaled to the 45mm track width, to = the Japanese truck width)