G Scale Model Train Forum banner

Stationary steam engine model

10K views 36 replies 10 participants last post by  CliffyJ 
#1 ·
As some of you know, I'm a total newbie to how steam engines work, but I've been modeling a stationary engine anyway. So thanks again to everyone who helped me with questions on prior threads.

Here's the state of the (computer) model design so far.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxZ361DxK50&feature=youtu.be

The Stephenson valve gear has been been quite the (interesting) challenge, but I think I've finally got something at least vaguely workable. It looks pretty chunky, but I need to make the parts 3D printable.

The intent is to make all the white bits with 3D printing, and cut the shafts from brass round bar. The screws are #0 and #1 lag screws from Micromark.

As for functionality, the gearmotor (beneath the "cylinder") is tiny; and if all goes well, it will drive a small grooved friction wheel that acts against the OD of the flywheel -- which is a square o-ring.

I've no idea if it will work at all, but I'll keep you posted.

===>Cliffy

See less See more
#30 ·
You said I made you drool :eek:
The quality of the prints is so beautiful! I have to mask everything with layers of filler and paint, but this comes right out of the printer?
This makes me wonder if it would be possible to run a printed steam engine, stationary or not, on compressed air ..

#31 · (Edited)
Thanks Peter, I'm very glad you liked it! Your work is tremendous, and I appreciate your thoughts and comments.

These parts are SLS-printed nylon from Shapeways, so yes, that's basically how they come out. I had to sand the cam follower rings narrower, because I should have modeled in some clearance. Also, since there's always a tolerance factor, I make all holes undersized, and drill them back out as needed. Otherwise, I didn't alter them.

Have you seen rkapuaala's SLS-printed metal engine build? Amazing. The part quality is wonderful.