G Scale Model Train Forum banner

Stationary steam engine model

10K views 36 replies 10 participants last post by  CliffyJ 
#1 ·
As some of you know, I'm a total newbie to how steam engines work, but I've been modeling a stationary engine anyway. So thanks again to everyone who helped me with questions on prior threads.

Here's the state of the (computer) model design so far.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxZ361DxK50&feature=youtu.be

The Stephenson valve gear has been been quite the (interesting) challenge, but I think I've finally got something at least vaguely workable. It looks pretty chunky, but I need to make the parts 3D printable.

The intent is to make all the white bits with 3D printing, and cut the shafts from brass round bar. The screws are #0 and #1 lag screws from Micromark.

As for functionality, the gearmotor (beneath the "cylinder") is tiny; and if all goes well, it will drive a small grooved friction wheel that acts against the OD of the flywheel -- which is a square o-ring.

I've no idea if it will work at all, but I'll keep you posted.

===>Cliffy

See less See more
#3 ·
Your drawing is very nicely done... but my being a really, really nitpicky person... two things: (not that anybody but me would notice!)

The toothed gear and the flywheel appear to be on the same shaft, but seem to be going in opposite directions and at different speeds. I guess it might the stroboscopic effect that makes the gear appear to be going in the opposite direction than the flywheel, but the speeds should not vary if they are rigidly on the same shaft. (Yes, the car commercials on TV where the advertiser has spent the money on animation to make the cars morph from one model to another over and over, while they fly over, under, around and through various barriers, and yet they could not make the wheels turn in the direction the cars a moving, really disturbs my sensibilities!)