G Scale Model Train Forum banner

Complete noob, have some Q's

7K views 44 replies 17 participants last post by  GscaleNoob 
#1 ·
Hi guys. I've always wanted to get into trains and I finally got my chance when the wife said she wanted a Christmas train set when she saw an el cheapo model at Wallmart. I "suggested" a little better set thinking I could get a g scale set started.

So I found a bachman Night before Christmas set at a local hobby house for $299. Not a bad price I thought so I snagged it. I got it together and working and we are enjoying.

Then I remembered my dads friend had an engine that was just sitting on his desk. I called him up and he gave it to me. I did some cursory googling and I think it's an Aristo Craft dash 9. Is that a good engine?

He told me the small track that came with my set isn't big enough to run this engine. It's fine, I plan on getting more track this weekend. But out of curiosity, is he right?

Also, is there any tips or tricks to maintain both of these engines I have now? Lube spots and what not?

Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi and welcome to the hobby.

Your friend is right, that is a rather big engine, I don't have that particular model but based on my experience with larger engines you'll probably want an 8ft diameter curve minimum for that one. Your starter comes with a 4 foot diameter curve which is really only good for smaller trains, even your starter set is pushing it for that size.

Also for the larger locomotive the starter power pack is waaay under powered you will probably want something along the lines of a USA trains Power 10 for the Dash 9.

As for the Bachmann engine it's pretty easy I believe there should be some screws on the bottom of the chassis that will let the base plate come off and allow you to lubricate. From the factory they are usually fine in my experience.

#3 ·