Which Scale of G to model? - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2008, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Which Scale of G to model?

Hi Guys,

¬*¬* I am just starting out in G-scale.¬*¬* I am intersted in modelling¬*an old logging railroad and want to start off in the right G-scale for me, one which allows for¬*growth and options.¬* ¬*I have done a lot of research on the various scales but still don't know what would work best in practice.¬*¬*¬* I would like to grow into whatever scale I go with and not mix the different scales if possible.¬* Could you please provide your thoughts on what I should consider.¬* Below are some of my thoughts.

¬*1:20.3:¬*¬* I like the idea of big trains.¬* I am not sure if they are going to be too big especially if down the road I buy something in another scale like 1:29.¬*¬* I understand that it will be more difficult to find structures & figures¬*¬* It sounds like this scale is growing fast.¬* I also like the fact that there are a lot of logging engines i could choose from (Bachmann & Accucraft.¬*¬*

1:22.5¬*¬*I like some of the LGB stock, but i am not sure how difficult it will be to continue to get and service this stock in the future.¬* My perception is that this scale is dominated by LGB, whereas 1:20.3 has more players.¬*¬*

1:24¬*¬* I don't know too much about this scale, but i understand makes for easier building since 1/2" to the foot.

1:29:¬*¬* i like the Accucraft-American Mainline engines, but there doesn't appear to be much rolling stock available from AMR or Accucraft in 1:29.¬*¬* I know that this is Aristo's primary scale

1:32¬*¬* I don't know too much about this either, but understand a lot fo musem qaulity peices (not my interest at this time) come in this scale.

Thanks for your feedback and help

-tcwave
tcwave is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2008, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
A Steamed Elder