curve banking or superelevation - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2010, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default curve banking or superelevation

My question is do I need banking or super elevation on my track powered railroad I am running wide 15 plus foot curves and if so how much elevation or angle do I need to add,some of my wide 18 foot curves are up hill 1.5 up to 2 degree incline per 150 feet of distance as I am new at this its me trying to get my head around the question so to speak caferacer
caferacer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2010, 01:47 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default RE: curve banking or superelevation

i don't think so.
save if you either plan a racetrack or are planning to run very heavy and very long trains.
Old 08-11-2010, 04:52 AM   #3 (permalink)

Send a message via Yahoo to Dan Pierce

Model trains like level track, especaiilly the switches/turnouts.

The 3 axle dual truck diesels will derail on uneven track!!
Dan Pierce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-11-2010, 06:13 AM   #4 (permalink)

No need for it unless you want to run bullet trains. Later RJD
Old 08-11-2010, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)

I like it and use it. I'm modeling G24 and have older shorter locos; 2-8-0 and a 4-4-0, they track fine.

There was a recent discussion about it tho' and most don't.

Like any grade change or transition it should be smooth and long rather than short and abrupt. Longer wheel bases might object.

John

His friend Jerry Dillon looked up at the hillside and said; There is a big ledge, and the whole damned hill is a total wreck with quartz boulders of ore.
Totalwrecker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2010, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)