henry hard to get going - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2020, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default henry hard to get going

im a newbie no doubt to live steam.i bought a henry kit and assembled it over a year ago .ive only bench tested it a couple times. ive since lost the starting instructions but remember most of it.my biggest problem is the sight glass always seems to have a bubble in it causing me to overfill or underfill. i cant get a good reading on it. turning it upside down is pointless. could my glass be installed too far one way blocking off flow?also when its steaming up water comes out of the cylinder block and spills over on top of boiler putting out the flame.i did get one run out of it for about 30 ft but it ran real slow.any advice appreciated.
blumule is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-25-2020, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

I would say that it's very hard to give an accurate diagnosis without seeing it in person.
Do you have anyone you know who is into live steam that can have a look?
Cheers,
David
David Leech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2020, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)

Blumule;

I have a Regner Chaloner (DeWinton type). My locomotive has two cylinders and no flywheel, but I have noticed that it needs to be "rocked" when starting up to help clear the water in the cylinders. By "rocked" I mean the locomotive has to take a few inches forward, then a few inches back several times to help clear the cylinders of water. Your Henry could probbably be "rocked" using the flywheel for the reversing. I am certainly not an expert, but the slow and labored running you described is indicative of cylinders that have not cleared of water fully. This is a "best guess" in my case, and I do hope that a more experienced member of our hobby can offer more conclusive advice.

All the best, David Meashey