Problem with Accucraft Ceramic Gas Burner in C25 locomotive - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2020, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Problem with Accucraft Ceramic Gas Burner in C25 locomotive

The following problem showed up this weekend with the ceramic gas burner in our C25 locomotive. As i have limited experience with ceramic gas burners, I am hoping someone here on the forum can assist with our troubleshooting of the situation...

Description of loco and problem:

This is an Accucraft C25 purchased as a coal fired model...Model has been fired successfully using coal as fuel. We also purchased an auxiliary ceramic grate/burner and extra gas tender. The ceramic grate was properly installed in the firebox for use with gas. Gas used is propane/butane mix. Adjustable fan was used on stack for draft.

Upon gas firing, all appeared well with ceramic radiant burner...within 15 seconds the top of ceramic burner was glowing red. All fine until boiler showed about 20 lbs pressure...at that point a "pop" was heard and the top of ceramic burner lost red glow...fire appeared to be underneath ceramic piece rather than on top of ceramic. Within a minute or two the sides of ceramic burner (not the grate) started to glow dull red confirming fire underneath ceramic. Gas was turned off, loco allowed to cool down. Situation was repeated several time with same result.

Variables attempted:
1) Varied amount of gas without change
2) Varied amount of fan speed with same result
3) Tried adding blower on engine instead of fan at 15 lbs....same result.

My logical guess at this point is that once the ceramic burner gets hot enough the fire moves from top of ceramic (radiant) to underneath ceramic in burner box.....but why?

Has anyone else had this happen, and if so what was your fix?
clifforddward is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2020, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)

Cliff,