Starting over on the 24' Carter bothers boxcar with questions - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2015, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Starting over on the 24' Carter bothers boxcar with questions

Hello everybody,

Well it's been two years since I anounced that Deerfield River Laser was going to cut a 24' Carter Brothers boxcar kit for me. Well after two years of having nothing to show for my money except a box full of over size pieces of wood, I called him on it. He hasn't done a single thing on it since my meeting with him last summer so I pulled the plug. The only good thing is he says he'll return my money.

So now what to do? I've started thinking about buying my own laser cutter and cutting the car myself. I'm also thinking about starting a cutting company. I can do the design work and drawings needed for it to work as I was a mechanical designer before my forced retirement. I'd like to have a company that I can suppy cutting services for individuals at a very reasonable cost. But and this is BIG but, is there enough work out there to help pay for it. I'm not looking to get rich with this adventure, enough to pay for the cutter and then some pocket money. My first project would be the boxcar followed by a 24' Carter flat car. Both cars would use parts and trucks from Hartford Large Scale Products by Ozark Miniatures.

So my question to all of you is, What would you do? Do you think there is enough work out there to support the cutter? There aren't many laser cutting companies out there doing large scale which leads me to believe there isn't that much interest and work. I'm on the fence about this and could use some advice. Be honest about this and don't worry about busting a dream.

Thanks
Chester Louis SA #64

Hampshire County Narrow Gauge
HampshireCountyNarrowGage is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2015, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator