Bachmann 'Classic G kit' Observation car..thingy? - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2009, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Bachmann 'Classic G kit' Observation car..thingy?

My question is what to do with the lighted 'drum' logo thingy hung on the rear rail? Not sure..obviously..what it's called or how to, or what to affix to it as a logo. For the sake of discussion, I'd like it to be a D & RGW. I'm not sure what colors an Old Timer of this Road would be. It is probably clear by now I'm new to the LargeScale stuff. I think this is an old kit, 9v battery lights and plastic wheels. Bill
Advertisement

Old 01-05-2009, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default RE: Bachmann 'Classic G kit' Observation car..thingy?

Hi,

Its called a drumhead, and would have appeared about 1930 ish on standard gauge I think The D&RG narrow gauge were using them in the 1950's, and then on parlor(1st class) cars .

The colors of D&RGW then was Pullman Green: pre 1912 it was a deep maroon.

There were some coaches in 1930 that were red, these were for the Civilian Conservation Corp - set up by President Roosevelt during the 1930's depression, and I would think it unlikely that they had a drumhead which was reserved for express or named trains, hence the drumhead to tell everyone the name of the train.

It was NOT used on all trains, so is really an accessory; possibly there were only two sets in use.

In the Colo. RR Annual 25 there is a photo of the one for the San Juan train.
peter bunce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 08:19 AM   #3 (permalink)

I think this is an old kit, 9v battery lights and plastic wheels

If it has plastic wheels, it is a VERY old kit. Bachmann released them in the 1990s, and re-released some a couple of years ago with metal wheels.