Self-Similar Pattern: G-Scale in a G-Scale Layout - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2013, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Self-Similar Pattern: G-Scale in a G-Scale Layout

This is one of those crazy ideas that folks like me wake up with in the morning and, while drinking coffee, keep thinking about, and finally just have to ask in a forum.

So ... i am totally new to large scale, and i don't know all of the fantastic history of this hobby and i don't know the answer to this question:

Has anyone ever built a large-scale garden layout in which the little figural people have built their own identically-modelled large-scale layout in their own little garden?.

I am NOT asking that the recursive mini-large-scale layout actually run around, only that it exists within an actual large-scale garden layout, which it models as a "prototype."

Yes, it would be very small. I get that. Very, very, very small.

Bonus question for the math-heads --

Exactly HOW small would it be at 1:22.5 or at 1:24 ?

(For instance -- and this is simply one example of how to pose the question -- how small would a Bachmann Annie pulling four Jackson and Sharp passenger/baggage coaches and a bobber caboose be at that self-similar pattern scale?)

If you have ever seen such a tiny self-referential train layout, or crafted one yourself -- PICTURES, PLEASE!

Thanks!
catherine yronwode is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2013, 10:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Default RE: Self-Similar Pattern: G-Scale in a G-Scale Layout

I've seen folks use Z-scale trains (1:220) as miniature backyard railroads, but at 1:22, they scale out to 1:10, so a little over twice as large as "g scale" would be in g scale (1:506). I've not seen anyone model a model of their own railroad, though that would be cool. I thought I saw video of working 1:400 scale trains, but I can't remember where.

Later,

K