Kadee couplers for USAT woodside reefers - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2017, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Kadee couplers for USAT woodside reefers

Hi everyone-
I'm new to G scale, and new to the forum. I picked up an engine and some rolling stock to get started, and am converting over to Kadee G scale (Type E) couplers. I bought a couple of the USAT woodside PFE reefers, and am wondering the best method for body mounting couplers. They have a sort of draft box molded into the car body and no mounting points on the underside of the car. Before I hack an 830 draft box in there, I thought I'd check and see if there is a better solution.

Thanks-
Eric
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2017-03-01 09.24.31.jpg (247.7 KB, 24 views)
ereuter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-01-2017, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)

For the USAT economy line, if you want to do body-mounted couplers, get out your cutoff wheel.

Note that using the stock height for USAT (or equivalent replacement) trucks, the moulded-on draft box is too high. I ended up cutting right to the "slot" and mounting my draft gear boxes against it. This means trimming the "spine" of the undercarriage a little to get a good fit.
rexcadral is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2017, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)

Im building a collection of the USA trains Billboard reefers..Im planning to make a train of about 10 of them..im going to convert them all to Kadee #1 gauge couplers (the smaller of the two Large Scale sizes)

But here is the thing..I am going to totally *not care* about the "correct" height!
instead, I am going to mount them in the existing pocket, (im not sure exactly how yet, haven't started looking at it yet) then whatever height that ends up being, will be the height. (I will cut off the trip pins)