New Member Intro - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2020, 10:57 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Member Intro

Hello all, and thank you for making joining this forum so easy.

Been searching the G scale forums for a day or two, and learning a little bit about outdoor railroading.

I am a longtime S gauge modeler and have a WIP railroad about 12 X 18 in a dedicated room. Just to insure that never gets completed, I have purchased some G gauge trains to put a little layout in the garden, LOL.

I want to build an L shaped single track loop, that will be about 90' long. The area is pretty flat drainage is good, going around some small shrubs and a Japanese maple.

General questions are:
If I go DC transformer power how many feeders needed for 90' of track. If I go with battery power who makes decent but not killer expensive.

I really want a simple build here, not elevated what's a good method for sub roadbed? I am building in south central NC, frost not a big concern.

Thanks in advance for any help/advice,
Aflyer
Aflyer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2020, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)

Hi Aflyer,

I'm fairly new at this as well, but I'm happy to share what I know.

I went with battery power right out of the gate, so I can't speak to DC power needs.

What locomotives you have and what systems they already include or don't include will affect the cost and complexity of the battery conversion.

I have an older RailBoss system from G Scale Graphics in a Bachmann 55 ton Shay, along with a Phoenix sound board. I really like how it works, but it is a bit cumbersome dragging a full-size R/C transmitter out to run it.