Power to caboose with battery powered loco - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2020, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 14
Default Power to caboose with battery powered loco

Here's a REAL newbie question. If you're using a battery-powered locomotive, and the track doesn't have any power, how does the caboose get power to operate its lights? Same for passenger cars, etc. I'm considering going with battery power instead of track power, so this is a head-scratcher for me! Thanks!!
paul2887 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2020, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
TonyWalsham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Casino NSW Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default

Separate battery packs in each car.
Or one central pack distributed around to each car that needs them
__________________
Best wishes,
Tony Walsham

Remote Control Systems. www.rcs-rc.com/
Modern technology. Old Fashioned reliability
TonyWalsham is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2020, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Jim Agnew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 638
Default

I change the lighting to LEDís and attach a rechargeable 9 volt battery to the under carriage with a magnet.
Jim Agnew is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-17-2020, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Eastern MA, USA
Posts: 3,865
Send a message via Yahoo to Dan Pierce
Default

And wire the leds in series, no sense in wasting power via resistors when it can light up more lights!!
Dan Pierce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2020, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you!
paul2887 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2020, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ormond Beach, Fl.
Posts: 340
Default battery powered LED's

I added 2 AAA batteries in a holder and hid them in the clearstory with a small slide switch on the side, works great and with LED's lasts forever, Bill
choochoowilly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
battery power, caboose, lights

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the myLargescale.com > Community > Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.