DCC question - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2020, 10:55 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default DCC question

I am new to DCC. I have a spot on my DCC track where the locomotive slows down a great deal. I replaced the track and all the connectors with new aristo connectors and brand new aristo track. I also used the track connectors that I bought from Anna Kramer and figured that would work and the train still slows down . This is a small rectangular layout with about 20 feet of track. I am using the LGB track connector to run from the digitrax to the track. Should I run a jumper wire to the dead spot? The Loco is a Diesel White Pass & Yukon . The layout is indoors on carpet so I know it will move over time so I moved it around and that did not help. Any other suggesions? I am using a 5 amp Digitrax system which is capable of running 2 big LGB Diesels.
thank you

Michael
mjll1958 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-12-2020, 07:51 AM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via Yahoo to Dan Pierce

One must determine if it really is power, or is it a wheel/track guage issue creating a problem.
For power, remove the joiners and use rail clamps, and even trying to just power the layout from the 'bad' section of track.

Another thought is do all the wheels and sliders conduct power on this engine. Run the engine upside down and try touching power each of the pickup points to see if the engine works.
Dan Pierce is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2020, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Modulator

What Dan said... how big is this "spot"? length in feet. You did not specify how far it is from the main feed.

If it is a section of track, swap that section for another one.

Greg

Click here for Greg's web site

Note: Please. no private messaging, use regular email: [email protected]
Greg Elmassian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message