myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

myLargescale.com > Community > Forums (https://forums.mylargescale.com/)
-   New Members Forum (https://forums.mylargescale.com/33-new-members-forum/)
-   -   New to G-Scale in AZ (https://forums.mylargescale.com/33-new-members-forum/81057-new-g-scale-az.html)

Huh? What? 06-19-2017 11:58 PM

New to G-Scale in AZ

Hi. My wife and I recently bought a new home with a half acre of landscaped property. We looked at it and decided it needed a garden railroad. I've done n-scale, and some HO, but never G-Scale outdoors, so this is going to be a learning experience.

My wife is busy researching materials to use for track bed. She;s a building inspector who used to teach CAD drafting and construction admin at a college level. She also has architectural experience. I'm a diagnostic electrician, with an electrical Instrumentation degree.

Greg Elmassian 06-20-2017 02:20 AM

there's lots of ways to go, check out my beginner faqs on my site.

Greg 1,127

p.s. welcome!

Huh? What? 06-20-2017 08:23 AM

I'll take a look, thanks.

Stan Cedarleaf 06-20-2017 11:06 AM

Where in Central Arizona have you landed???? :) :) :cool:

Greg Elmassian 06-20-2017 11:12 AM

You can tell by his user name... it's HOT...

Greg

Huh? What? 06-20-2017 11:21 AM

Actually, we just left Prescott Valley. We're down in the Yarnell area now.

Pete Thornton 06-20-2017 01:59 PM

Welcome. Looks like you've got a good skill set between you!

For track bed, many folk use 'crusher fines' or 'rock dust'. Same stuff used under flagstone paths. 4" well tamped down will provide a solid base. I found a 4" trenching shovel at Home Depot and used that to make the trench for the ballast.
Others use concrete, or run the track on blocks/bricks.