AWOL Admin - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2014, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 405
Default AWOL Admin

In all the post comments regarding the inability to include pictures there seems to be virtually no comment or help forthcoming from the MLS administration. Have they given up?
I would have thought that based on the number of comments regarding this "problem" that the administration would be working overtime to resolve the issues and KEEP US UPDATED as what the are, or are not, doing.
Cheers.
__________________
Harvey.
harvey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2014, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,650
Default

Hi Harvey,
Until you get official help, here is an unofficial suggestion.
Not sure what you mean by 'inability to include pictures', but maybe this will help.
Select PHOTO GALLERY at the top.
ADD ALBUM
UPLOAD PICTURES
Click on photo and copy the URL
In your message 'INSERT IMAGE', and paste the copied URL.
Hope that helps, but maybe that's not the problem
Cheers,
David Leech, Delta, Canada
David Leech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,235
Default

This is what I do, if you have loaded pictures in your first class web space.

1. Open the add reply, edit, or new post box.
2. Open a second window or tab in your browser and open MLS.
3. In that new tab or window click on the "home" in the tool bar, this will require a new log in.
4. Go to members and click on 1st class web space.
5. Open the picture you want to post.
6. Copy the URL in the address line.
7. Go back to the post you are creating or adding to.
8. Click on the mountain icon in the tool bar in the first window (instruction 1) with the text box. This will bring up a box to paste the URL you just copied. It comes up with an "http://" already there. Delete the one in the box as the URL you are about to paste into the space already has one. The double "http://" screwed me up the first time. Now paste the URL and click the "OK" button. If all goes well that will insert the image into the text box.

Repeat 5-8 for each new picture.

Others have added pictures to their posts as attachments. These show up as thumbnails at the bottom, which can be expanded for better viewing.

There are several different approaches.

Chuck





chuck n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-12-2014, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Dish Washer
 
Randy Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wittmann, Arizona
Posts: 3,203
Default

Harvey I keep my photos to post on photobucket.com. I go advanced, click in the (insert image) icon above. It looks like a square with a mountain and black sun in the upper right corner. Then I pick the photo I want and paste the link named (Direct).

Randy Stone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,235
Default

We have all had to experiment and play around with what we are comfortable with. Photos are important to helping others. I hope you can succeed in posting pictures.

Chuck



chuck n is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Totalwrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vail AridZona
Posts: 6,042
Default

My first class space is about full up, so what I've been doing is adding attachments. Under this Quick Reply box is a tab saying Go Advanced, click on it, then scroll down to a box that says Manage Attachments.... you can click the go button anytime, the script is saved... (I clicked now) on the right are smilies..., no really! ....
Anyway, scroll down, there's a heavy blue bar with Additional Options, 2nd box down is attach files, click on Manage Attachments.
A box opens, click browse, chose pic from your files, use normal procedure to select 1 - 10 pics, then click uploadd, at bottom of list. Then close the box. Finish your post and Submit Reply ... bye bye
Attached Images
File Type: jpg a22_packard_loading.jpg (63.4 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Happy Rails,
John


His friend Jerry Dillon looked up at the hillside and said; There is a big ledge, and the whole damned hill is a total wreck with quartz boulders of ore.
Totalwrecker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
BigRedOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,060
Default

I'm using Flikr.

One nice thing, is I can load a picture to Flikr in any size I wish, then copy the link using an 800 pixel option.
__________________
I thought I told you guys to order a large load of peppers, and not a load of large peppers?!
BigRedOne is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 09:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Scottychaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,894
Default

Posting photos is now much easier than it was before the current change in ownership. Moving the forum fixed the [ img] tags, which hadnt worked in many years...and the "insert image" button is also working..posting photos is one thing that *has* been fixed lately. there is no problem at all, it's working perfectly fine..better than it has in 5 years at least, maybe more.

__________________

Scot Lawrence -
Rochester, NY USA
SA #2089
www.scotlawrence.com
Scottychaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 09:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Scottychaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,894
Default

The photo above was posted with the "insert image" button..
I should make sure im also right about the [ img] tags!
testing with the tags:



Scot
__________________

Scot Lawrence -
Rochester, NY USA
SA #2089
www.scotlawrence.com
Scottychaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2014, 09:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Scottychaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,894
Default

Yep! both methods fixed..
both are those are things that were fixed when the new owners recently took over..
for years I had to do it this way:



where we had to type in the parts in black by hand. but not anymore!
that method has thankfully been retired..
posting photos is now easier than it has been in ages..pretty much back to normal for me.
Scot
__________________

Scot Lawrence -
Rochester, NY USA
SA #2089
www.scotlawrence.com
Scottychaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the myLargescale.com > Community > Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TCP/IP Network Admin Questions (OT/NT) Dwight Ennis Public Forum 33 04-18-2008 07:49 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.