Using Meanwell SP-320-24 - myLargescale.com > Community > Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2012, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Using Meanwell SP-320-24

Hello,

I am still a newbie and had been using the LGB 50111 - but I switched to a Meanwell SP-320-24 which I think may provide 'cleaner' power, in that it's not rectifying the AC voltage to DC. Plus I have plenty of ampacity to drive two LGB F7's and and LGB 2156s - plus about 300 feet of track.

Anyway, I am now in the process of putting the Meanwell PS into a custom enclosure which will have a light pipe for power on indication and also making easier to tote around with a nice handle, all in a powder coated (LGB red) box.

Cheers,
Brett
Merlin83 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-17-2012, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default RE: Using Meanwell SP-320-24

What are you using for a throttle.
Old 01-18-2012, 06:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

I'm just using a LGB 51070 - and it works pretty good, I notice with the Meanwell I have much,much smoother throttle response than with the LGB 50111.

Old 01-18-2012, 07:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Modulator

Strange, unless you have the system heavily loaded (high amperage), there should be little difference.

That LGB puts out 6 amps, so the difference on one loco or even two should be negligible, of course a regulated supply should give you more consistent "response" as the load varies.

How many locos are you running? Steep grades?

Just curious, I use meanwell myself.

Greg

Click here for Greg's web site

Note: Please. no private messaging, use regular email: [email protected]
Greg Elmassian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2012, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)

Would the AC output of the LGB be the difference.
Old 01-18-2012, 08:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
krs

Posted By Merlin83 on 18 Jan 2012 06:32 AM